Rural dividend fund supports local communities

The three-year fund will provide $25 million in funding to help rural communities stay sustainable.

Fraser-Nicola MLA Jackie Tegart.

Jackie Tegart

Communities like Ashcroft and Cache Creek have a proud history of hard work and success in the extraction and development of natural resources. As such, they have been—and continue to be—valued contributors to our provincial economy.

However, as time goes on, it is becoming increasingly important to protect our communities from the risks that come with economies that depend on natural resources for their success.

In order to ensure that our communities are resilient, sustainable, and able to retain and attract residents, we must embrace the challenge of economic diversification.

There is no question that this will be a challenge. Our BC Liberal government recognizes this, and is working hard to support our communities in their efforts to meet and overcome the challenges they face.

Last year, the province established the three-year Rural Dividend Fund to provide $25 million per year for three years to help rural communities with populations below 25,000 to boost and diversify their local economies.

In October, the Villages of Ashcroft, Cache Creek, and Clinton, as well as the Lytton and Ashcroft Indian Bands and the Ts’kw’aylaxw First Nation, received a combined total of over $129,000 from the Fund to support projects that will further their diversification efforts.

Powered by the innovation and initiative of our residents, these projects stand to make Ashcroft and Cache Creek even more attractive places to live, work, and raise a family.

Together, I know we can keep our communities thriving.

The second intake for the Rural Dividend Fund closed at the end of October; to learn more about the fund, including information on the next intake period and application details, please visit and enter “BC Rural Dividend” into the search field.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact my constituency office at (250) 453-9726.


Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Clinton and District Community Forest passes audit

According to a news release from Forest Practices Board on Feb. 19,… Continue reading

Research casts ‘last stop sign on Trans-Canada’ claim into doubt

Sign was removed from junction of Highways 1 and 97 in Cache Creek in February 1984

Savona athletes head to BC Winter Games

Akira Susanj and Alexander Teague competing in karate events

Ashcroft councillor wants to revisit Village’s burning bylaw

Raven Nyman’s regular report on Ashcroft council

Cache Creek unsuccessful in bid for Quartz Road bridge funding

Highlights from the most recent meeting of Cache Creek council

Pipeline dispute: Tories put no-confidence motion on House of Commons agenda

Conservatives say they have no confidence in the Trudeau government to end the rail blockades

Galchenyuk nets shootout winner as Wild edge Canucks 4-3

Vancouver tied with Calgary for second spot in NHL’s Pacific Division

B.C.’s soda drink tax will help kids lose weight, improve health, says doctor

Dr. Tom Warshawski says studies show sugary drinks contribute to obesity

A&W employees in Ladysmith get all-inclusive vacation for 10 years of service

Kelly Frenchy, Katherine Aleck, and Muriel Jack are headed on all-expenses-paid vacations

B.C. mom’s complaint about ‘R word’ in children’s ministry email sparks review

In 2020, the ‘R’ word shouldn’t be used, Sue Robins says

B.C., federal ministers plead for meeting Wet’suwet’en dissidents

Scott Fraser, Carolyn Bennett says they can be in Smithers Thursday

Province shows no interest in proposed highway between Alberta and B.C.

Province says it will instead focus on expanding the Kicking Horse Canyon to four lanes

First case of COVID-19 in B.C. has fully recovered, health officer says

Three other cases are symptom-free and expected to test negative soon

Budget 2020: Weaver ‘delighted,’ minority B.C. NDP stable

Project spending soars along with B.C.’s capital debt

Most Read