Sarah O’Connor points to her desk in the Legislative Assembly

Sarah O’Connor points to her desk in the Legislative Assembly

BCYP encourages civic engagement and community involvement

Lytton woman enjoys involvement in community and youth politics.

At the age of 20 Sarah O’Connor of Lytton has a better grasp of the workings of government than most people twice, even three times, her age.

And for that she can thank, in large measure, her four-year involvement with the BC Youth Parliament, an organization devoted to providing 16- to 21-year-olds both a forum for debate and an opportunity to serve.

“The BC Youth Parliament program fosters pride in the province and encourages civic engagement and community involvement,” says Ray Parks, CEO of the Provincial Capital Commission, which financially supports the parliament session held in the provincial Legislature each year during the week after Christmas.

This year marks the 83rd annual session, a record that dates back to 1924 and one that is broken only by the years of World War II. Originally it was an outreach program run by the YMCA and reserved just for boys, but in 1977 that all changed. Today, two-thirds of the participants are female.

The alumni include many famous British Columbians. Former premier and lieutenant-governor Walter Owen was a member, as was artist Jack Shadbolt, newspaper columnists Allan Fotheringham and Eric Nicol, and former cabinet ministers Jack Davis, Linda Reid and Colin Hansen.

The post-Christmas session is the only time when the parliament as a whole meets. Regional parliaments, of which there are six in BC, meet more often. At the plenary session, 95 members gather in Victoria to debate issues, set policies and elect a premier, leader of the opposition and deputy speaker, who hold their offices for 12 months beginning each year in September to  coincide with the school year.

By holding the session in the legislative chamber, the young parliamentarians get a taste of what it is like to participate in a real parliamentary setting.

Current premier Jess McElroy of North Delta appointed 13 parliamentarians to handle an array of responsibilities that parallel the provincial ministries, at least in name. She asked Sarah to take on two roles: deputy premier and minister of external affairs, a measure of the respect and confidence she has in the native of Lytton.

Sarah does her community proud but has some good leadership models to follow. Her father, Chris O’Connor, a forestry consultant, was mayor of Lytton for nine years, ending in 2008. Her mother, Denise O’Connor, a long-time teacher, is principal of Lytton Elementary school.

Sarah attended high school in nearby Ashcroft, staying with family friends. One year she went on a Rotary exchange to Belgium where she attended school in the modern, planned city of Louvain-la-Neuve, becoming fluent in French in the process.

After graduation she enrolled in an arts program at Thompson University. With two years behind her, she decided to get some first-hand government experience working as a legislative assistant in the government caucus in Victoria.

Sarah says she joined the Youth Parliament in 2007 at the urging of a friend who felt it was a great way to meet new people, have fun and get involved in community services aimed at youth. Not surprisingly many of the service projects Sarah has taken on have been Rotary inspired. As a youth parliamentarian she is expected to put in 20 hours of community service each year, a quota she has easily exceeded.

As minister of external affairs she is responsible for organizing a joint session of youth parliamentarians from western Canada who will meet in Vancouver over the coming Victoria Day long weekend. The joint session is held only once every two years with each of the four provinces hosting in turn. The last time BC hosted was in 2004.

“It’s a big job,” says Sarah, who will have a budget of about $20,000 raised through a variety of fundraising projects to see it through.

And her job is going to get a lot bigger. At the session just ended Sarah was elected the next BCYP premier.

by Derek Sidenius

for the BC Youth Parliament

Just Posted

A tent housing a mobile vaccination clinic. (Interior Health/Contributed)
Over 5K jabbed at Interior Health mobile COVID-19 vaccine clinics

The clinics have made stops in more than 40 communities since launching last week

Provincial Health Officer Dr. Bonnie Henry talks about B.C.’s plan to restart the province during a press conference at Legislature in Victoria, Tuesday, May 25, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito
Interior Health COVID-19 cases falling slower than the rest of B.C.

More than a third of provincial cases announced Thursday came from the Interior

A tent housing a mobile vaccination clinic. (Interior Health/Contributed)
Second dose vaccinations accelerating throughout region: Interior Health

To date, more than 675,000 doses have been administered throughout the region

Okanagan Lake (File photo)
Thompson-Okanagan ready to welcome back tourists

The Thompson-Okanagan Tourism Association expects this summer to be a busy one

Aerial view of a wildfire at 16 Mile, 11 kilometres northwest of Cache Creek, that started on the afternoon of June 15. (Photo credit: BC Wildfire Service)
Wildfire at 16 Mile now being held

Wildfire started on the afternoon of June 15 at 16 Mile, east of Highway 97

Marco Mendicino, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship during a press conference in Ottawa on Thursday, May 13, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Canada to welcome 45,000 refugees this year, says immigration minister

Canada plans to increase persons admitted from 23,500 to 45,000 and expedite permanent residency applications

Emily Steele holds up a collage of her son, 16-year-old Elijah-Iain Beauregard who was stabbed and killed in June 2019, outside of Kelowna Law Courts on June 18. (Aaron Hemens/Capital News)
Kelowna woman who fatally stabbed teen facing up to 1.5 years of jail time

Her jail sentence would be followed by an additional one to 1.5 years of supervision

Cpl. Scott MacLeod and Police Service Dog Jago. Jago was killed in the line of duty on Thursday, June 17. (RCMP)
Abbotsford police, RCMP grieve 4-year-old service dog killed in line of duty

Jago killed by armed suspect during ‘high-risk’ incident in Alberta

The George Road wildfire near Lytton, B.C., has grown to 250 hectares. (BC Wildfire Service)
B.C. drone sighting halts helicopters fighting 250 hectares of wildfire

‘If a drone collides with firefighting aircraft the consequences could be deadly,’ says BC Wildfire Service

A dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine is pictured at a vaccination site in Vancouver Thursday, March 11, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
NACI advice to mix vaccines gets varied reaction from AstraZeneca double-dosers

NACI recommends an mRNA vaccine for all Canadians receiving a second dose of a COVID-19 vaccine

A aerial view shows the debris going into Quesnel Lake caused by a tailings pond breach near the town of Likely, B.C., Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2014. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Updated tailings code after Mount Polley an improvement: B.C. mines auditor

British Columbia’s chief auditor of mines has found changes to the province’s requirements for tailings storage facilities

A North Vancouver man was arrested Friday and three police officers were injured after a 10-person broke out at English Bay on June 19, 2021. (Youtube/Screen grab)
Man arrested, 3 police injured during 10-person brawl at Vancouver beach

The arrest was captured on video by bystanders, many of whom heckled the officers as they struggled with the handcuffed man

Patrick O’Brien, a 75-year-old fisherman, went missing near Port Angeles Thursday evening. (Courtesy of U.S. Coast Guard)
Search for lost fisherman near Victoria suspended, U.S. Coast Guard says

The 75-year-old man was reported missing Thursday evening

Most Read