Candidates run for Council seats on Nov. 19

See who's running in Ashcroft, Cache Creek, Clinton. Lytton, Area E, Area I and the school board.

Local voters will be going to the polls Nov. 19 to elect their local councillors and TNRD directors.

In Cache Creek, Mayor John Ranta is the only candidate for mayor, while in Lytton, the mayor and council seats are uncontested: incumbent Mayor Jessoa Lightfoot and councillors Robert Austen, Denise MacIntyre, Patricia Thorpe and incumbent James Steer are likely to be acclaimed on Oct. 24.

In Ashcroft, incumbent Mayor Andy Anderson will be on the ballot with challenger Joris Ekering, as well as several candidates running for four seats on Council:  incumbent Alice Durksen, incumbent Jerry Fiddick, incumbent Helen Kormendy and Gail Groome, John Kidder, Barbara Roden and Jackie Tegart. Coun. Colin Williams is not seeking re-election.

In Cache Creek, six candidates are vying for four seats: incumbent Ida Makaro, incumbent Wyatt McMurray, incumbent Darrell Rawcliffe, Lisa Dafoe, Herb Hofer, and Jim Lambert. Coun. Jim Loucks is not seeking re-election.

Clinton’s Mayor Roland Stanke is looking for a TNRD seat, leaving the mayor’s race to incumbent Coun. Daniela Dyck and Jim Rivett. Seven candiates are running for four council seats with only one incumbent, Marian Nelson, running. She is joined by Diana Guerin, Wayne Marchant, Tanni McColl, Marnie Nieuwenhuis, David Park and Susan Swan. Councillors Margaret James and Bonnie Stanke are not looking for re-election.

Incumbent Logan Lake Mayor Marlon Dosch is uncontested but there are eight candidates running for six seats: incumbent Audrey Leblanc, incumbent Claire Newman, incumbent Robin Smith, incumbent Al Smith, incumbent Charlie Weir, incumbent Garry Youd, Luanne Baker and Don Brown.

TNRD’s incumbent  Area E director Sally Watson’s seat is being challenged by Roland Stanke. And in Area I, director Barry Tait is being challenged for his seat by Steve Rice.

Most of the Gold Trail board of education seats are uncontested, with the exception being the Village of Lillooet’s trustee Norm Leech who is being challenged by James MacArthur. The rest of the seats will be retained by the current board: Larry Casper (Area A), Valerie Adrian (Area B), Nancy Rempel (Area C), Carmen Ranta (Area D, Mavourneen Varcoe-Ryan (Area E) and Christopher Roden (Village of Ashcroft.).

Check with your Village office or the TNRD for dates, times and locations of the advanced and regular polling stations.

See the Nov. 8 issue of The Journal for biographies of the local candidates.