Skip to content

Preliminary list of nominees set for Ashcroft and Cache Creek

Barbara Roden is acclaimed as the mayor of Ashcroft
General voting day for B.C. municipal elections is Oct. 15, 2022. (File photo)

A total of six candidates have submitted their nomination packages to be elected on to Ashcroft’s local government.

Nominations closed at 4 p.m. on Sept. 9 and saw Village of Ashcroft’s incumbent mayor Barbara Roden running unopposed, making her mayor by acclamation.

Five nominees are looking to fill four available councillor positions. Among them are two incumbent councillors, Jonah Anstett and Nadine Davenport. Other nominees include Jessica Clement and Joris Ekering.

Doreen Lambert, who served on council from 2013 to 2018, has also filed her nomination papers for councillor.

The village of Cache Creek has four candidates vying for the mayoral position, including incumbent mayor Santo Talarico and two incumbent councillors: Annette Pittman and Wendy Coomber. John Ranta, who served as Cache Creek mayor continuously from 1990 to 2018 before being defeated by Talarico in the 2018 election, is also running for mayor this year.

Six nominees are also vying for four available positions on council, including incumbent Sue Peters.

Others nominees for councillor include Kelly Debert, Jim Douglas, David Dubois (who served on council from 2014 to 2018), Karla Hein, and Carmen Ranta.

Nominees can still be challenged or can withdraw their papers up until Sept. 16.

Municipal elections will be held on Oct. 15.