Ethel Smith receiving her 2014 BC Community Achievement Award from The Hon. Judith Guichon

Smith receives award at Government House

Loon Lake's Ethel Smith received her BC Community Achievement Award in Victoria last week.

VICTORIA – Thirty-two British Columbians were honoured on Apr. 29 at the eleventh annual British Columbia Community Achievement Awards’ ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

Honourable Judith Guichon, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia and Honourable Coralee Oakes, Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development  presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award medallion and certificate. Keith Mitchell, QC represented the British Columbia Achievement Foundation.

Loon Lake’s Ethel Smith was at the ceremony to receive her award.

“Ethel’s Smith’s award is a tangible thank you from the people of Loon Lake, a small Cariboo community,” it was read as she was introduced. “For 38 years, Ethel Smith voluntarily operated a first aid post at Loon Lake. She aided hundreds and hundreds of people, permanent and summer residents, tourists and guests. Whether it was an embedded fish hook, or a suspected heart attack, or care when someone was discharged from hospital, Ethel treated them all. It was comforting to know, given that Loon Lake is located about an hour’s drive from the nearest emergency room in Ashcroft, that Ethel was there with her first aid kit and training if any medical or first aid situation arose. For her generous devotion to the well-being and health of her community, we honour Ethel today.”

“It is a privilege to acknowledge the efforts of these individuals who work for the betterment of our communities and our entire province,” said Minister Oakes. “Today’s recipients, whose ages range from 18 to 102, are examples of the best of British Columbians.”

“Today’s honourees give the most valuable of life’s commodities, time and energy,” said Mitchell. “They do whatever needs to get done – from sitting on boards and committees to far exceeding their job descriptions to sharing their talents of organizing, fundraising, innovating and mentoring.

The recipients of this year’s awards are:

Selen Alpay of Prince George, Cathy Ashurst of Burns Lake, Amrik Singh Aulakh of Surrey, Donald Brown of Victoria, Helen Clifton of Hartley Bay, Lynnette Cobb of Williams Lake, John D’Eathe of West Vancouver, Allan De Genova of Vancouver, Judy Dix of Prince George, Wayne Duzita of Richmond, Michael Feller of Richmond, Keith Gibson of Tofino, Afraj Gill of Surrey, Daphne Goode of Victoria, Deanna Hamilton of Kelowna, Jill Hayward of Louis Creek, Carol Hunt of North Cowichan, Valerie Ingram of Southbank, Bonnie Leadbeater of Victoria, Bessie Lee of Vancouver, Morgan Leung of Delta, Larry Leung of Burnaby and Jason Min of Delta, Tom Lymbery of Gray Creek, Michael McCoy of Richmond, James McEwen of Vancouver, Ethel Smith of Loon Lake, Marilin States of Creston, Fred Titcomb of West Vancouver, Germain Vigneault of Port Clements, Pat Wahlstrom of Quesnel, and Miriam Yu of Vancouver.

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards from nominations received in the Fall, 2013. The council members are Mayor Stephanie Killam of the District of Mackenzie, Mayor Mary Sjostrom of the City of Quesnel, and past recipients, Maggie Ip of Vancouver, Alan Markwart of Victoria and Don Shumka of Vancouver.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. The awards were launched in 2003.

Just Posted

Federal Green Party leader visits Ashcroft

Elizabeth May was in town with Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Canyon Green Party nominee John Kidder

Historic Cornwall fire lookout to get some tender loving care

Volunteers are being sought for a work bee at the lookout in August

Ashcroft resident now in his 25th year of riding to raise funds for BC Lung Association

Wayne Chorneychuk once more getting ready to ride in the Bicycle Trek for Life and Breath

Wildfire smoke can pose serious health risks

Tips to help you stay safe during the smoky summer season

Communities in Bloom judges coming to Ashcroft

All are invited to a meet and greet, where prizes for best gardens and street will be presented

Joaquin ‘El Chapo’ Guzman sentenced to life in prison

Experts say he will likely wind up at the federal government’s Supermax prison in Florence, Colorado

Olympic softball qualifier gets $150K boost from provincial government

2019 Americas Qualifier to be held in Surrey from Aug. 25-Sept. 1

Gas price inquiry questions Trans Mountain capacity, company denies collusion

The first of up to four days of oral hearings in the inquiry continue in Vancouver

‘Benzos’ and fentanyl a deadly cocktail causing a growing concern on B.C. streets

Overdoses caused by benzodiazepines can’t be reversed with opioid-overdose antidote naloxone

Will you be celebrating national hotdog day with any of these crazy flavours?

The popularity of hotdogs spans generations, cultures

Former home of accused Penticton shooter vandalized

Ex-wife of man who is accused of murdering four people had her house vandalized

Survivor of near-drowning in B.C. lake viewing life through new eyes

“If I died that day, the baby wouldn’t know his dad,” said 31-year-old Mariano Santander-Melo.

‘Beyond the call’: Teen in police custody gets birthday surprise by B.C. Mountie

Unusual celebration started when Staff Sgt. Paul Vadik went to visit the teen in his Coquitlam cell

Thunderstorms forecast across B.C.

Environment Canada has issued a thunderstorm watch for B.C.’s central Interior

Most Read