Skip to content

There will be elections in The Journal readership area

After a very slow start, candidate nomination papers flooded into Village offices
File photo

There are going to be civic elections in the Ashcroft Journal readership area.

However, there were some concerns with only a couple of days before the nominations closed at 4 p.m. on Sept. 14 that there may be a need to extend the nomination period.

The Villages of Ashcroft, Cache Creek and Clinton didn’t have enough nominations forms to fill a full slate at the respective council tables.

That changed significantly on Sept. 12 and 13 when nomination forms flooded into the respective Village offices.

So Declarations of Candidates have been issued and there is a one-week waiting period during which candidates could withdraw their names or be challenged.

That period ended at 4 p.m. on Sept. 21.

So, we know for sure there will be new mayors in Clinton and Ashcroft because the incumbent mayors are not running in this election.

Here are your nominees:


Mayor: Sandy Agatiello, Barbara Roden and Alf Trill

Councillors: Deb Tuohey, Marilyn Anderson, Nadine Davenport, Jonah Anstett and Coralee Lizee.

Cache Creek

Mayor: John Ranta (incumbent), Santo Talarico and Sean Murdock

Councillors: Lisa Dafoe (incumbent), Wyatt McMurray (incumbent), Wendy Coomber (incumbent), David Dubois (incumbent), Annette Pittman and Sue Peters.


Mayor: Susan Swan, Diana Guerin, Roland Stanke and Ira Zbarsky

Councillors: David Park (incumbent),

Sandra Burrage, Kim McIlravey, Laura Paquette, Theodore Pappas, Christine Rivett, Cynthia Robinson and David ‘Ross’ Tapping.

TNRD Area E (Bonaparte Plateau)

Sally Watson (incumbent), David ‘Ross’ Tapping and Bill Mackenzie.

TNRD Area I (Big Sky Country)

Steven Rice (incumbent) and Daryll Marinello

School District 74

Area A: Larry Casper (acclamation)

Area B: Valerie Adrian (acclamation)

Clinton: incumbent Nancy Rempel (acclamation)

Cache, Bonaparte and Walhachin: incumbent Carmen Ranta (acclamation)

Ashcroft Reserve and Spences Bridge: Donna Aljam (acclamation)

District of Lillooet: Carl Pawlychka and Orra Storka

Important dates

Advance polling is on Oct. 10, Oct. 16, Oct. 17 and Oct. 18 – 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Local General Election Day is Oct. 20 – 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Polling sites to be announced closer to the polling dates.